Barefoot in Suburbia

Homeschooling & Special Needs, Inspired by the Montessori Way

Blog reorganization June 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Barefoot in Suburbia @ 8:53 pm
Tags: , ,

I think I’m going to attempt to reorganize my postings. They seem all over the place! There are always things going on around here, so I either forget to post, or I remember to post but it’s about a lot of things all at once. There are also a couple fantastic blog carnivals out there that I want to get linked up with, so I’m going to try planning my posts around that.

The first blog carnival I want to link up to is Montessori Monday

Montessori Monday is hosted by http://onehookwonder.blogspot.com/ .  This will basically be an overview of the Montessori work that went on in the previous week, mainly by Monkey.

The second blog carnival is Tot School.

Tot School

Tot School is hosted by Carisa at 1+1+1=1 http://lapbooksbycarisa.homestead.com/TotSchool.html.  Tot School is a time set aside for children under 3 where you focus on playing with your tot, while “sneaking” some educational things in.  It’s a fun time where they use their imagination, explore, create, and learn.  Of course, being a Montessori family, Bitty Bug’s Tot School time will also be Montessori in nature.

The third blog carnival is actually an outdoor nature challenge hosted by http://handbookofnaturestudy.blogspot.com .  It’s based on the book “The Handbook of Nature Study” and involves studying the world in your own backyard, appreciating nature, and just exploring the world around you.  This carnival has The Outdoor Hour Challenge. 

Of course, the randomness will still pop up every now and then, just because there are also people reading the blog that are reading for family updates.  So, I’ll try to get that in here every now and then as well.

 

2 Responses to “Blog reorganization”

  1. theattachedmama Says:

    I absolutely LOVE The Handbook of Nature Study. I purchased the book on a whim at barnes and noble and it is one of my favorite books in our home library. I am so happy to see you like it too!

    • allyrae Says:

      I really do like it! It’s such an interesting book, and I don’t think I ever would have known about it except it was available for download at Homeschool Freebie of the Day. I think one day I might have to find the actual book (I have the downloaded e-book right now, but it’s not the same as really having it and taking it with us to explore outside!)


Leave a Reply

